• Mia McKenna-Bruce takes home the prestigious EE Rising Star Award at the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards
  • David Tennant introduced this year’s award, which was presented by last year’s EE Rising Star Award winner, Emma Mackey, and 2015 EE Rising Star Award winner, Jack O’Connell, at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall
  • The 2024 nominees are: Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Jacob Elordi, Mia McKenna-Bruce and Sophie Wilde
  • 2024 marks the nineteenth year of the EE Rising Star Award - the only award voted for by the British public
  • Previous winners include Lashana Lynch, Bukky Bakray, Micheal Ward, Letitia Wright, Tom Holland, John Boyega, Jack O’Connell, Will Poulter, Tom Hardy, Kristen Stewart, Eva Green, and last year’s winner Emma Mackey

London, Sunday 18th February 2024: Tonight, EE revealed Mia McKenna-Bruce as the winner of the EE Rising Star Award for 2024, the only award presented at the EE BAFTA Film Awards that is voted for by the British public.

Previous EE Rising Star Award winners, Emma Mackey (2023 winner) and Jack O’Connell (2015 winner), introduced the award at this year’s ceremony, which was held at the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall.

Now in its nineteenth year, the EE Rising Star Award reinforces EE's commitment to become the UK’s most personal, customer-focused brand by providing the nation with an opportunity to have their voice heard through the public vote. The accolade continues to celebrate new and emerging talent within the film industry who have each demonstrated their remarkable talent in film over the past year, having captured the imagination of both the public and film industry alike.

Mia McKenna-Bruce is one of five incredible actors nominated in recognition of their work and identified as a rising star. The other nominees are: Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Jacob Elordi and Sophie Wilde.

MIA MCKENNA-BRUCE is an English actress who is receiving acclaim for her lead performance in Molly Manning-Walker’s film, How to Have Sex. The film, in which she plays Tara, follows three British teenage girls on a trip to Malia, a Greek Island of Crete, for a rites-of-passage holiday filled with drinking, clubbing, and hooking up. It was released in November 2023. Meanwhile in 2022, Mia gave a scene-stealing performance in the role of ‘Mary Musgrove’, the younger sister of Dakota Johnson’s ‘Anne Elliot’ in the film adaptation of Jane Austen’s Persuasion. This follows her nomination for a Royal Television Society Award in 2017 for ‘Performance of the Year’ for her role of ‘Tee Taylor’ in the BBC’s television series The Dumping Ground.

Mia McKenna-Bruce, 2024 EE Rising Star Award Winner, said: “Thank you to everyone who voted, thank you to Molly Manning Walker and everyone who worked on HOW TO HAVE SEX. Thank you BAFTA, thank you EE, I’m over the moon. Ayo, Phoebe, Sophie, Jacob - it’s an honour to have been nominated alongside you. Thank you”

Pete Jeavons, Marketing Communications Director at EE, said: “Many congratulations to Mia McKenna-Bruce for winning the 2024 EE Rising Star Award. Through our longstanding partnership with BAFTA, we are committed to empowering and inspiring the next generation of talent, and the EE Rising Star Award truly embodies this. As this prestigious award marks its nineteenth year, we’re proud to continue to nurture and celebrate outstanding new talent within the film industry, while also providing a platform for film fans to engage and express their support. We look forward to seeing what the future holds for Mia McKenna-Bruce and all the other exceptional nominees!”.

Jane Millichip, CEO at BAFTA added: “The EE BAFTA Film Awards are about celebrating exceptional talent in filmmaking today and inspiring the filmmakers of tomorrow. For the past 19 years the EE Rising Star Award has recognised the most exciting and promising talent of their generation, and this year is no exception. Many congratulations to Mia McKenna-Bruce and to all of this year’s nominees who I know we’ll see on our screens for many years to come”.

The EE Rising Star Award was created in honour of the late Mary Selway. A highly respected and BAFTA award-winning casting director whose 36-year career saw her work on more than ninety films and work with leading directors such as Steven Spielberg and Clint Eastwood. Mary’s work contributed to the creation of some of the silver screen’s most memorable characters and in 2001 she received BAFTA’s Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award.

This year’s EE Rising Star Award nominees were selected by an impressive lineup of industry experts who were tasked with selecting the shortlist from a comprehensive list of talented actors and actresses. The jury was chaired by BAFTA’s Chair of the Film Committee, Anna Higgs, and included actors Daisy Edgar-Jones, Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù and Himesh Patel, casting directors Lucy Bevan and Nina Gold, as well as other leading industry specialists and prominent film, entertainment, and arts journalists.

EE is a long-standing partner of the BAFTA Film Awards, committed to nurturing and championing emerging talent through the EE Rising Star Award. EE also continues to use its tools and resources to support the aspirations of the next generation, highlighting its dedication to being the UK’s most personal and customer-focused brand.

For more information on the EE Rising Star Award please visit:

- ENDS -

For more information, please contact M&C Saatchi Talk on 

About EE 

EE is one of UK’s largest subscription businesses, backed by the UK’s biggest and fastest mobile network, offering superfast connections in more places than any other operator. 

Built on the foundation of decades of mobile and broadband leadership, EE is on a mission to be the most personal and customer-focused brand in the UK by playing a more meaningful role in customers’ lives, with a suite of exciting products and services open to all UK consumers, available via a new ‘EE ID’ digital platform. 

EE’s mobile network continues to receive extensive recognition including UK's best overall network by RootMetrics® every year since 2014, as well as being named Network of the Year at the 2022 Mobile Industry Awards.

EE is committed to offering first class service in the industry and has over 400 stores across the UK. EE remains the only mobile provider to answer 100% of customer calls in the UK and Ireland and was recognised as the UK’s Best Large Contact Centre by the UK Customer Experience Awards 2018 and Welsh Contact Centre Awards 2019.  

EE was awarded The Sunday Times’ Best 100 Companies to Work for in 2018 and 2019, as well as being named Best Employer 2018 by the European Contact Centre & Customer Service awards. EE won Best Repair Service and Best Network Provider at the Mobile Industry Awards in September 2023 and was recognised as the provider that does more than any other to deliver a great service.  

EE is part of BT Group's Consumer business unit which provides products and services to all of BT’s consumer customers in the UK. 

Follow us on:Facebook at:  

Twitter at:  

YouTube at:  

LinkedIn at:  


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts - is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA, and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires, and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For more, visit BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).